Review | My Experience With Tea Tree Oil

Tea tree oil has been my favorite ingredients to calm down my acne and redness these several months. Tea tree oil is famous for its antiseptic and anti-inflammatory actions, and widely used as one of the active ingredient in many topical formulations used to treat cutaneous infections, such as acne.

I once read a journal about tea tree oil before, and it is quite interesting. What I knew was tea tree oil is only good for your skin, but its antiseptic and anti-inflammatory properties encourages scientists to study and evaluate the clinical effects of tea tree not only as an anti-skin-irritation ingredient, but also as a mouthwash, hand wash, and shampoo.

tea tree oil review Etude house, the body shop

I’ve been trying to use some products with tea tree as the main ingredients. And here are the products that I think actually working for my skin.

1. The Body Shop Tea Tree Night Lotion

The Body Shop has a whole series of products with tea tree as the main role; from face wash, toner, day and night moisturizer, scrub, face mask, and the most famous tea tree oil itself as a spot treatment. I have tried almost the whole range, but what I think gives the noticeable benefits to my skin are just 2 products, one of them is this Tea Tree Night Lotion.

tea tree oil review Etude house, the body shop

I’ve used this product from a long time ago, maybe since 3 years ago. The Body Shop did change the concept of their whole products into a more sleek, minimalist design not so long ago,  but before it happened, this lotion is called The Body Shop Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion. I’ve been using it and repurchasing it several times. But since I switched to another skincare regime from a beauty clinic, I began to use this product again only just recently, and realized that its packaging has changed and so its name, shortened without the “blemish fade“.

What I like about this product is the cool sensation it gave right after the application, as well as its very light and non-greasy texture, but moisturizing enough for the night. When I woke up the next morning, my face didn’t feel so oily, and the reddish acne scars faded a bit. But don’t expect the same result for your brownish acne scars, it is more difficult and take longer time to fade away.

IMG_0036-horz

But now, with the loss of the “blemish fade” label of this product, I also feel the loss of action in reducing acne scars. This lotion only works to moisturize the skin during the night and relieve inflammation caused by acne. The texture is also thicker than the old version, and not so great in reducing oil production at night. Maybe something has changed with the formula of this product, and I prefer the old formula because the benefits are more noticeable for me. Right now I’m still using this product, but if it’s used up I’ll probably try another product 😀

2. The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil

the body shop tea tree oil review

I love this product! Containing 15% organic tea tree oil, I think the concentration is effective enough to fight acne without making the skin too dry. Tea tree oil itself is known for its drying properties, so pure tea tree oil is not recommended to be applied directly to the skin. Tea tree oil from The Body Shop has been diluted so it is safer for a direct use onto the skin.

I use this product as a spot treatment on a developing acne, I dripped a few drops onto the back of my hand and then applied directly on the acne with my fingertips. This product can shrink a mild to moderate acne without leaving scars, but for a cystic acne it takes a while to be gone, maybe 3 to 5 days.

IMG_0041-horz

I’ve repurchase this product many times, though it doesn’t give instant results in deflating acne, but I like it because the texture is very light and quickly absorbed into the skin. The smell may be very strong and somewhat stinging to some people, but to me it is not disturbing at all and quite refreshing!

3. Etude House 0.2 Therapy Air Mask Tea Tree

I just happened to try this for about a month and I use it once a week. And wow, I really love it! Amongst all 3 products I mentioned here, this sheet mask gave the quickest results in only first use.

tea tree oil review Etude house, the body shop for oily skin acne prone

I myself have not used too many different types of sheet mask. But the whole concept of sheet masks is perfect for a lazy girl like me 😀 This product consists of a very thin cotton sheets which doused in a liquid base formula, and it is so easy to use, just put it on your face and tap tap tap, you’re good to go.

This Etude House 0.2 Therapy Air Mask Tea Tree is promoted with the claim of fresh moisture & skin clearing. And sure enough, when I use this for 20 minutes at night before bed, the next morning I woke up with completely reduced redness and irritation on my skin, and the skin feels hydrated and supple. It also gave a cool effect so it feels soooo refreshing. I will definitely use this on a regular basis until my problem with acne is completely gone 😀

How about you? Have you ever tried the same product?

Leave a Reply

